Skip to main content



Awards Day

November 10, 2023

The Head of School’s Trophy

Presented by the Head of School to the member of the graduating class, who has made great strides of achievement in all areas of school life and has shown outstanding qualities of citizenship throughout his years at PDS.

The Elisabeth Horton Laios Faculty Trophy for General Excellence

Named in honor of longtime PDS teacher Elisabeth Horton Laios, the award is donated by the faculty to the member of the graduating class who has most clearly manifested in many phases of school life gentlemanly qualities, excellent scholarship, and effective support of the best interest of Presbyterian Day School.

The Mary Hearn Coleman Award

This award is given in honor of Mary Hearn Coleman in recognition of her 39 years of service to Presbyterian Day School as a teacher and principal. One member of the graduating class will be presented with $500 cash awards at graduation in recognition of outstanding academic achievement and citizenship.

The A. W. Dick Trophy

Given in honor of the member of the graduating class who has shown the most unselfish service to the school during his years at Presbyterian Day School, by members of Second Presbyterian Church who wish to remain anonymous.

The Henry Edward Russell Award

Given each year in memory of Dr. Henry Edward Russell by the Presbyterian Day School Board of Trustees. A tuition grant of $100.00 will be given to a member of the student body who has shown a positive, helpful, and caring attitude through the year toward his schoolmates.

Charlotte Neal Spirit Award

Named in honor of the longtime PDS faculty member and Development Director, this award is given by recommendation of the Elementary faculty and coaches to the graduating sixth grader whose attitude and demeanor best exemplify those qualities that characterized Mrs. Neal’s distinguished career at PDS. The recipient of this award possesses the quality of passion for the school and everything for which it stands; he demonstrates exuberance in his endeavors and displays this exuberance with great humility and self- deference. He takes pride in everything he does.

Jane East Award

Presented to a sixth grader whose high standards, work ethic, and striving for excellence have been exemplary during his fourth, fifth, and sixth grade years. Mrs. East personified such characteristics during her twenty-five year teaching career at PDS, and they were hallmarks of what she expected from her boys.

Wendy Edwards Award

Given in memory of beloved PDS teacher Wendy Edwards, The Wendy Edwards Award is presented each year to a 6th grade boy who has, during his PDS career, displayed many of the characteristics that former PDS teacher Wendy Edwards shared with the boys, teachers and families of PDS during her life and career at PDS: a deep faith, a genuine concern and love for others, the delight in encouraging others, and a spirit of joy and courage no matter the circumstances.

Minna Thompson Bible Scholarship

Given in her memory by her friends. A tuition grant of $100.00 will be awarded annually to a sixth grade student who best exemplifies in his attitude and behavior the teachings of the Bible, who shows leadership qualities, and who maintains a high scholastic average.

The Vicky C. Spicer Trophy

This award is given each year in memory of Vicky C. Spicer by her family, to a member of the sixth grade who exemplifies the philosophy of Presbyterian Day School with his Christian attitude, gentlemanly conduct, high academic standards, and sense of achievement. In addition to this award, a book in Mrs. Spicer’s memory and in honor of the recipient will be placed in the school library each year.

The Wetter-Boyle Memorial Award

Given to the graduating PDS student, as determined by the faculty and Board of Trustees, who, during his tenure at the school, has best embodied and will continue to best embody the qualities of fellowship, leadership, integrity, community service and devotion to others, which were hallmarks in the exemplary lives of Mr. Snowden Boyle, Jr. and Mr. James Wetter.

Robert J. Hussey Scholarship

Robert E. Gentry Creative Writing Award

Motsey Hudson Speech Award

MUS Book Award